Establishment of the Circumscription of La Plata (Uruguay, Paraguay, Bolivia and Argentina) (September 29, 2021)

On September 29, feast of the Holy Archangels, the Prelate of Opus Dei established the Region of La Plata, comprising Uruguay, Paraguay, Bolivia and Argentina, with the Regional Vicar's headquarters in Buenos Aires and delegations in Uruguay and Paraguay.

Msgr. Fernando Ocáriz appointed Father Juan Llavallol as Regional Vicar of the new region, and Fathers Víctor Urrestarazu and Carlos Varela, Vicars of the delegations of Paraguay and Uruguay, respectively.

As the Prelate indicated in his message of January 2021, this territorial reorganization provides “greater agility and efficiency in the apostolic work. It will also allow for more attention to caring for people and to each person’s apostolate in his or her own professional, family and social environment, in tandem with the formational activities organized in and from the Prelature’s centers.”

Romana, n. 73, July-December 2021, p. 41.

Send to friend