Ordination of Deacons, St. Eugene's Basilica, Rome (November 8, 2014)

On Saturday, November 8, 32 faithful of Opus Dei received diaconal ordination from the hands of Bishop Echevarría. The ceremony took place in the Roman Basilica of St. Eugene. The new deacons are from 14 countries: Spain, Poland, Chile, Ecuador, the United States, Nigeria, Mexico, Taiwan, Kenya, Brazil, Guatemala, Colombia, Austria, and Argentina.

In his homily, which is included in full below, the Prelate invited all of them to be “untiring in their self-giving, vigilant in prayer, friendly and welcoming in service.” He also recalled the example of the founder of Opus Dei and Blessed Álvaro. “The 32 new deacons,” he said, “continue a long chain begun by St. Josemaría in 1944, with Don Álvaro and two other faithful of the Work.”

The priestly ordination is scheduled for May 9, 2015.

Romana, n. 59, July-December 2014, p. 289.

Send to friend