Ordinary Public Consistory for voting on various Causes of Canonization (February 26, 2002)

On February 26, His Holiness John Paul II presided over an Ordinary Public Consistory of Cardinals to approve the canonization of various persons being considered for sainthood, including Josemaría Escrivá de Balaguer. The ceremony took place in the Clementine Hall of the Apostolic Palace.

After an introductory prayer by the Holy Father, the Prefect of the Congregation for the Causes of the Saints read a brief report on each one’s life and miracles. With the unanimous agreement of the Cardinals as representatives of the universal Church, the Roman Pontiff declared that they could proceed with the canonization of those presented. Then the Pope announced the dates for the canonizations and imparted his blessing.

The dates established for the canonization ceremonies were May 19 for Alonso de Orozco, Ignazio da Santhia, Umile da Bisignano, Paulina do Coraçao Agonizante de Jesus and Benedetta Cambiagio Frassinello; June 16 for Padre Pio de Pietralcina; July 30 for Juan Diego; July 31 for Pedro de San José Betancourt; and October 6 for Josemaría Escrivá de Balaguer.

Romana, n. 34, January-June 2002, p. 106.

Send to friend